Beazley Designs of the Year

September 25, 2019

The Design Museum has unveiled the nominees for the 2019 Beazley Designs of the Year, a celebration of the most original and exciting products, concepts and designers across the globe today. Exploring innovations from around the world that champion accessibility, design for women and local ideas with a global impact.

The categories include ‘Architecture’, featuring an app, a landscape, the process of conceiving and fundraising for a community skatepark in Athens, or a vast $500m arts centre on wheels.

The Architecture category includes ‘110 Rooms’ by MAIO, a flexible residential building that can be adapted by its inhabitants.

The ‘Graphic’ category includes nominations from radical books and citywide platforms to graphic visibility for minority groups, contemporary graphic design explores the politics and power of communication, and how it can be wielded.

A new brand identity for Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club following their victory in the 2017–18 Championship is included in the Graphic category.

The Fashion category features the most transcendent and cutting-edge fashion with the ability to shine a spotlight on important societal issues and show us how things should be. 

The fashion category includes Adidas’ Originals Collection by Ji Won Choi. A Korean-influenced sportswear collection.

The Design category includes ‘This Person Does Not Exist’, a website on which you will be greeted with the face of a stranger. Each time you click ‘refresh’, a new, completely convincing yet unfamiliar face appears. Except, as the title gives away, none of these people exist. 

The GACHA Self-driving Shuttle Bus, a self driving bus for all weather conditions is included in the Transport category.

This was the first year that the public nominated alongside design experts. Visit the exhibition to see if your choice was selected!

Nominated in the Product category, FREKVENS is a new playful and portable home audio system designed by IKEA in collaboration with Stockholm-based ‘teenage engineering’. 

A winner will be selected in each category and one overall winner will be announced on November 21, 2019.

See the full details here.